Coopers Community

Looking for ideas for brewing Coopers Lager

I am new to home brewing and have just been brewing Coopers Pale Ale with various hops and been enjoying the results but my Lager Brewing Extract is sitting there unused and I don't want to waste it so I have been wondering if there is something interesting that I could try with it that isn't overcomplicated for a beginner. So I am looking for suggestions, perhaps different hops to try, or maybe make an 8% lager. I don't know. Just looking for ideas.

• Like 1

@Beerb Alley , welcome to the forum.

Do you have temperature control as lagers require to be fermented at about half that of ales?

An 8 % lager is a big beer in my book so you may need to throw three to four sachets of lager yeast at this beast.  The yeast that comes with the Coopers Lager tin is actually an ale yeast so look at getting some specialty lager yeasts for this brew, say W34/70.   Just because it says lager on the Coopers tin does not mean it will turn out a lager.  It is the yeast used that determines that i.e. any ale yeast will make the tin an ale and any lager yeast (fermented at the correct temperature) will make the tin a lager.

• Like 3

Your new. Don't fk with it. You might actually like it as is.

Use the can yeast 

Brew 18 to 25c. (18-20 better)

Add 1kg LDME or BE3. or 1.5kg if your keen

Bottle after 8-11 days

Keep it warm for a few days

Drink 8 weeks later

Edited by Oldbloke
  • Like 2

6 hours ago, Beerb Alley said:

I am new to home brewing and have just been brewing Coopers Pale Ale with various hops and been enjoying the results but my Lager Brewing Extract is sitting there unused and I don't want to waste it so I have been wondering if there is something interesting that I could try with it that isn't overcomplicated for a beginner. So I am looking for suggestions, perhaps different hops to try, or maybe make an 8% lager. I don't know. Just looking for ideas.