Coopers Community

New brewer have some questions

JanH1

Hi. My name is Jan and I'm from Norway. I'm new to brewing and this is my first post. I have read A LOT of posts on this and other forums but still have a few questions.

I have started a Coopers Heritage Lager with a can of LME and 500g BE2. I have some Northern Brewer hop flowers in the freezer that I bought more or less by mistake when I startet, and I'm thinking of dry hopping. Would this hop do anything good to a Heritage Lager this way? I understand it's mostly used for bittering...?

My second question is about bottle conditioning. Some say two days at room temp, then two weeks in the fridge. Some say two weeks at room temp before fridge. Some say 3-6 months at room temp, and up to several years for a stout etc.

Can I store at room temp as long as I want? I have 4 brews going and plenty of room temp storing space, but only one fridge.

Thanks for any help. And great forum! [happy]

Jan

Welcome aboard Jan!

I don't kknow much about Northern Brewer but it is supposed to be a dual purpose hop used for bittering and flavour/aroma. Someone else might be able to offer more.

What temperature are you brewing the Heritage Lager? The kit yeast is a ale/lager blend.

If it is at the ale temps then store the bottles at room temp until they are carbonated and add them to the fridge when you are ready to drink them. No need for cold lagering.

If you have made a lager then I would leave the bottles at room temp for at least 2 weeks to carbonate and then add them to the fridge to lager for a while (ideally). If you don't have the space in the fridge then just leave them at room temp. The lager will take longer to condition compared to the ale.

Ultimately you can only run with the equipment & space that you have and your beer will still turn out fine.

G'day Jan,