Coopers Community

How to increase alcohol percentage? Coopers Cans

Rob (Guinness Man)

Hello all,

I did my first brew a while back, Coopers European Lager but it came out at about 4.2%. A little too light for my likings. I want to add more alcohol to the next brew. Something around 5.5% is a good strength. I'm a novice so still on the cans I'm afraid.

Whats the easiest way to increase the alcohol percentage without damaging the brew and can this be applied to most Coopers Can recipes?

Thanks,

Rob

Hello all,

I did my first brew a while back, Coopers European Lager but it came out at about 4.2%. A little too light for my likings. I want to add more alcohol to the next brew. Something around 5.5% is a good strength. I'm a novice so still on the cans I'm afraid.

Whats the easiest way to increase the alcohol percentage without damaging the brew and can this be applied to most Coopers Can recipes?

Thanks,

Rob

I like to add DME rather than sugar to up the ABV,& add to the color,flavor,& mouth feel. You could add a couple ounces of maltodextrin,which doesn't ferment out,to give more mouth feel. Or...You could use brew enhancer2 to add dextrose,maltodextrin,& DME all at the same time to up the ABV,get good mouth feel,& improve the flavor/color/aroma a bit. Adding some hops is a good way to balance the extra fermentables too. An ounce of pellets will do nicely.

The simplest way is just to add more sugar to the brew. The more sugar you add, the more the yeast eats, and the more alcohol it produces. You'll be able to find calculators online that will tell you how much to add - this way you can work out (roughly) what the percentage is likely to be. This should work for pretty much every can that coopers make.