Coopers Community

Recommendations on what to brew

Matt C

Hi everyone,

I am new to brewing. I just bottled the lager that came with my kit (haven't tasted it yet). It was really easy to make and I want to get started on my next brew... one of my choosing.

I am trying to decide between the IPA and the English Bitter. Does anyone have any opinions on which I should try next? Also, should I get the complete kit or is there a better way to make my next brew?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Matt

Matt,

They both make great beers, so it is up to your personal preference which to try next. Maybe get them both, and toss a coin to deide which to do first? The IPA is bitter and hoppy, the EB darker, not so bitter and malty.

The 'How to Brew' section of this site and the Recipe Resource discussion have lots of ideas for recipes and additions.

Dan

Hi Matt, I would recommend the UK bitter, because after you try IPA you may not want to go back - haha!

You realise you have opened a can of worms? You may as well go buy the second barrel and extra PET bottles right now, because it's only a matter of time!

Welcome to brewing yum [happy]

PS: The 'kits' aren't totally necassary, just a can of coops and 1kg of raw sugar and you're good to go!

At the very least,I'd use the Cooper's brewing sugar. It's 80% dextrose,20% maltodextrine. The dextrose will ferment out more completely,without leaving a cidery after taste. I've found that the brewing sugar also gives a bit better color,flavor,head. All that sort of thing.

I thought that if you used too much dextrose it will leave a cidery texture because it leaves the beer thin and thats one of the reason why alot of brewers use malt instead when making beer.

I may be wrong because I have never had any cidery tastes when brewing with dextrose, malt or maltodextrine.

they say you shouldn't use more than 15% dex as a fermentable. it lends nothing to the body of the body. only alcohol.