Coopers Community

A question for those who keg

I am stumped on this one so thought I would ask here and maybe someone might be able to help.

I have a leak in a keg I put in sometime ago. It is only very small but it is obvious it is coming through the Pressure Relief Valve (PRV). Now to provide a quick fix I changed the whole lid but only to find the next one is leaking as well. So what do I do now?... I changed to another lid and guess what?.... yep, it also leaks.

Now the wierd thing is that these lids/PRVs are fine and do not leak when they were on a different keg.

Is it possible to "overfill" the keg which could result in this type of problem?

I'm pretty new to kegging (so someone else might be better placed to answer this question) but i've had similar problems with some of my kegs. I've found that they don't form perfect seals at very low pressures (say, 2psi) but when the pressure is increased (say, above 10psi) the seal is secured. This is, obviously, because pressure is needed to force the lid closed, and to to make a good seal with the O-ring. But i don't think this should affect the pressure release valve all that much.

I do have two or three lids whose PRVs are a bit temperamental. I don't really have a perfect solution, but sometimes I find that if i take them off and put them back on again (sort of like re-starting a computer) it can seal the leak in the release valve. Also, I sometimes find that when i can hear the leak fizzing out of the PRV, if i twist the ring on the valve (maybe by only a few degrees) there is an audible difference in the pressure being leaked - and there's often a 'sweet spot' where it stops leaking altogether.