Coopers Community

Greetings all from a noob

George J

Hello all. Total noob here when it comes to brewing the nectar of the gods [innocent]

I used one of the Coopers tins to set up my first batch to ferment a few weeks ago on a saturday. By Wednesday the airlock wasn't showing a lot of activity, but I could see condensation at the top of the plastic fermenting bin and the gunk that forms at the top of the wort. Unfortunately weather turned cold overnight on wednesday and i dint notice anything happen thru the air lock after that. so on Saturday, i dumped the batch! [annoyed] I should have found this forum earlier.

Anyhow, chucked another batch into the primary last saturday and stuck it in the hot water cylinder cupboard so that it doesnt get too cold again. Took a reading last night and the SG is on 1.010 (original SG was 1.032). Now, a friend suggested using Finings to clear the beer so I added that to the wort last night. Have I F***ed up my brew by doing that? I am planning to take SG readings everyday till Sunday and if they are steady will start bottling.

Oh! also I should also say a big Thanks to all you gurus on here cos reading all the posts has got me a bit more educated on the whole process. so....Cheers

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the forum GeorgeJ.

Patience grasshopper.[innocent]

Don't waste the nectar, the gods will not be pleased!![rightful]

Ignore the airlock, having a good seal on your fermenter is irrelevant. Check for signs of fermentation, condensation on the lid, foam (krausen) forming on top of the wort.

I wouldn't take a reading everyday, you'll have no beer left when you come to bottle. Take a reading when you set your wort fermenting (before you add the yeast), then take readings at say, days 7+8 if they are the same over 2 consecutive days your good to bottle. I normally leave mine in the fermenter an extra week for a clearer beer, so no need for finings.