Coopers Community

Water adjustments?

EdwardL

Hello all,

I've been brewing for a few years and have done brew-on-premise, coopers extract kits, full-wort-in-a-bag kits, extract + specialty grain and all grain batches and every thing has what my wife refers to as "homebrew taste" - thin and slightly acidic tasting. I always thought it was because of the extract but the all grain batches and brew-on-premise batches suffer the same problem. I really don't think its due to infection as I've been boiling all of the water I use and drowning all of my equipment in StarSan. And its not a yeast character as I have done batches with a variety of different yeasts. I live in Vancouver Canada and the water here is essentially distilled (virtually no disolved minerals - less than 4 ppm of Calcium) and I'm starting to think that is the problem. Does anybody brew with distilled water? has anyone every played around with chalk, gypsum or baking soda additions to the water? I purchased a few coopers ipa kits to brew up with different water to try to figure this out. Has anyone else had this problem?

Hi Edward - I haven't had this problem. I brew using tap water in Sydney Australia. I've never had any beers that have the homebrew taste that I always hear about. Maybe I should share my beers more [biggrin]

I'm certainly curious to hear what others have to say on the subject.

Maybe get yourself a ph tester see how acidic or neutral the water is. Then when you determine what scale the water your using is on, then the correct action can be taken.

I add calcium sulphate to the water. Although the tap water in Melbourne is fine for brewing.

Living on the Sunshine Coast Aust. the water is that bad that when you flush the toilet you can smell the cloride. I use a filter in the kitchen and don't have too many problems. I think you may need to review what you are brewing e.g the amount of sugars or the yeast, if i was lucky anought to live in Canada I would only brew lagers.

hi edward,