Coopers Community

fining's

carls

Hi all, im new to this and was asked a question about fining's. I couldn't answer it because i didn't even know what it was, i have googled it but didn't get much info on it, can anyone tell me about it and if i need to use it, i am about to brew up a cider and a corona type beer, i will also be doing ginger beer and a honey lager

Carls - My limited knowledge of finings tells me they are used to clear the beer.

Any research I have done tells me don't bother with them. Just leave your beer in the fermentor for a few extra days and age adequately in the bottle and you will have a nice clear beer. You certainly don't need it for the beers you mentioned.

Patience is all the finings you need [biggrin]

Agree with Muddy, as well opening the fermenter after a few days to drop the finings in can be a little problemsome in my opinion. So i just leave that bit longer to clear. Worth it in the end plus no chance of spoiling the brew if you open the lid on the wrong day.

I have always used Finnings and also rake my beer and have never had a problem I also botttle it in clear stubbies (stored in the dark) and end up with very clear beer drank straight from the stubbies. Different people different ideas. Give it a try.

I kind of agree with John. I dont personally use finnings although its abit of an experiment and if it clears your beer up alot more and thats what you want, why not.

I personally like the idea of the cloudy beer but others have differant opinions. Why not try one batch with the finnings and then for the next batch dont use them and let it clear in the fermenter.

Then you can decide whether you think they are worth it.

Thanks,

fish bladders and will not have any taste.

Is this a line from Seinfeld?