Coopers Community

Bavarian Beer

Ricemachine

Hi everyone.

Im new to brewing and i recently mixed up a batch of bavarian beer.

I added the 1 Bavarian can and 1 bag of Brew enhancer 1, 23 litres of water, yeast and i let her brew. i kept the brewer cool by wrapping it in a wet towel as i have read it brews better at a lower temp, er 21 degrees celcius. i have kept it that temp or so for 2 weeks.

It bubbles here and then. but im not sure if i did everything right. did i add the right contents into the mixure.

Also using the hydrometer that came with the kit. where should i know when to bottle. As in what reading

There is not much froth on top of the brew and not much bottling ever since i started the brewing. But there is a eggy smell coming out of the air tight cap

Could someone please help me.

Nick

nothing is amiss mate, bottle it.

Check your starting gravity, if you put your extract and brew enhancer 1 in, it would probably sit somewhere like 1045-1050 I am guessing.. so if its got down to 1.014, that's probably at about 4.8% alcohol I reckon - so she's ready for bottling.

Checking the specific gravity is the best way you can tell if its brewing. sometimes lids don't get sealed correctly, so your fermenter airlock won't bubble - and people get worried about that.. but its unnecessary, if you check your gravity and that is going down, then you know for sure that everything is A-okay.

Generally, Final Gravity FG is achieved when you get two SG readings the same over two clear days (FG can vary from brew to brew). Once you have FG you can bottle the brew.

An eggy smell is normal for the Bavarian - page 7 of the under-lid instructions.

Open a bottle after a month - it may have cleaned up sufficiently by then?? If not, wait a month and try another one, and so on. :wink:

• 3 weeks later...

I've just bought a Bavarian Lager kit, too.