Coopers Community

Mexican Cerveza... how does this sound?

MLTZER

Just bottled my first ever brew (lager) and as soon as this melbourne weather cools down i wanna try brewing some Mexican Cerveza with my own custom touch. But seeing as I'm still a newbie I thought id run it past you all first

Coopers Mexican Cerveza

500g Honey (from my neighbour who has his own hives)

1kg Light Dry Malt

Lemon & Lime Zest*

*now I'm unsure how much zest to put in? and is it better to grate the citrus skins or put them in whole? I'm assuming its better to grate them but i wanna double check.

Hey mate im sure you will get many different opinions on here or sometimes like today not much at all when no one is coming on.

But me personally i wouldnt by a light style kit like a Mexican Cervesa just to add a whole kg of light dry malt which would make it very heavy and dark anyway.

But thats just me i see people on here have already done similar things and its all up to you.

But adding that much malt to an already low hopped beer would mean really not being able to taste any bitterness or ballance at all maby try 500 grams each of dextrose and LDME and a hop tea of some sort as well as the honey. BUt in the end u can experiment and try what you like

I've done a similar recipe to you but with 500gm LDME and 500gm honey.

Grate the zest of 3 limes and boil for 1 hour in 1 litre of water.

However I prefer the Cerveza without the lime added to the brew.

Doing Cerveza with honey is the way to go.

If you ilke lime just add it to the glass of beer.

Else you have 23 litres of lime flavor beer to consume!

Hey Gang,

Try this recipe. It makes an great ginger beer!

Gringo Ginger Ale

1.7Kg Mex Cervesa

500g LDM

500g LME (Amber)

500g Honey

500g Fresh ginger root (pounded & boiled for 20mins)

2 Whole lemons (halved, squeezed and boiled for 20mins)

7g Cooper's kit yeast (ale/lager blend)

25L water

8g Chinook (20mins)

22g Cascade (20mins)

200g Dex (bulk primed)