Coopers Community

Real Ale Recipe Advice Please

John

Hi Brewers

I am looking at making an all-malt Real Ale - partly in the style of a Speights Distinction ale - partly to use up some ingredients I have lying around (specially the open can of Liquid Amber Malt sitting covered in the fridge.

I am hoping for a medium/full bodied ale, with a good amount of flavour and a nice hoppy finish/aroma.

I was thinking about using the following:

-1.7Kg Coopers Real Ale

-1/2 tin (.75Kg) Liquid Amber Malt

-.75Kg LDME

-2x15g Fuggles/Goldings - steeped and added after 2-3 days (after vigourous fermentation is finished - newbie thought( yes I realise this is a bit of an oxymoron) - results in a stronger hop aroma?)

-23L

From Brewcraft calculator OG would be around 1.049. Past experience ( i.e. stuff-ups) suggests that I need some extra yeast.

I would appreciate any advice / suggestions - even from PB3 (Muddy) if he is not too busy digging.

Hey John - I'm just a newbie too but I guess I just post a lot. (Note to self - get a life).

I'll let Paul come back with an intelligent reply but I'll give my 2 cents worth before I crawl back in my hole. The recipe sounds ok to me (but see my previous comment on waiting for an intelligent reply).

I stand to be corrected but I would have thought that for you late hopping you could just throw them in dry after a few days rather than steeping them. But did I mention waiting for an intelligent reply?

Disclaimer - I haven't tasted this beer.

Correction, a work colleague reminded me that we tasted it about 3 weeks ago at Fox's Ale House, Auckland ...oops...

The description of Speights Distinction Ale ,on their website, doesn't talk about hop character at all?? The emphasis is on malt - in fact, the words malt/malts/malty appear 4 times in their description.

Anyway, I think your recipe should make a nice beer.

The supplied yeast will cope with the fermntaion but you can add more yeast if you have it handy.