Coopers Community

what's the difference???????

Beergut

:oops:

Howdy everyone

I'm a newbie to home brewing so can some one answer me this:::

What's the difference between: brewing sugar - dextros - enhancer 1 (2).

I've noticed on the packaging (brew can and packets listed above) that you may put in 1kg of either of the above, but if you do say for instance use dextros or enhancer , do you still use sugar or are these used ONLY by themselves, without the need to use sugar.

Can you use half sugar/ half dextros (enhancer) .

I've read on the labelling what each product does but it never really says to use one in place of the other or in combination with each other , for example: 1kg of sugar with 1kg of enhancer will give the brew a more creamier head etc or will this cause it to bugger up the fermention process.

I just put down a brew and used half brewing sugar and half enhancer 1, (hopefully this will be good)

I've put down about 5 brews so far and they've all been perfect, so I'd hate to stuff it up now.

Also a bit of advice on this one please: :( I put down a Ginger beer and mixed up my directions. :? Here's what I did:

I wanted to make a non - alcoholic drink but may have made it ALCOHOLIC instead. ( I know i can drink a bottle and see if I fall over but I don't like ginger beer but worse still I gave 6 bottles to the mother inlaw who just happens to be a teetotler :twisted: see my problem :lol:

Any way the label for non alcoholic said to to use 150g of sugar, add mix, stir , fill up, sit for 3 hours , then bottle. 3-6 weeks later enjoy. Ok fine, except I didn't exactly do that.

I did this: 1.5 kg of sugar, add mix, fill up , (after 2 hours I realized my mistake in the sugar department) , I let it ferment over night, then bottled it next morning, (hoping some of the sugar disappated). I didn't put any sugar in the bottles when bottling.