Coopers Community

Molasses

Now I am getting in preparation for St Patricks day I am making the toucan stout and another stout that I am wanting to work out myself my only question is this I want to use molasses in the non toucan recipe. I have a 550g Jar of Blue Label Blackstrap molasses I want to know what would be the maximum amount I should use as I have never used it before and am curious about it. I have heard it gives the beer a nice alcohol sort of rum kick notes to it. I have used dark brown sugar before which gives stouts a nice alcohol kick and that has a little bit of molasses in it. So what would be my best advice as to start at I am thinking maybe 250 - 300g as blackstrap molasses is 50% fermentable so will leave a noticeable taste. I do intend to use A coopers stout kit and also 1kg of LDM and 300g sugar plus some steeped oats for this particular recipe and possibly some crystal malt 250g. Cheers

Sounds Massive Wayno!

I'd be very careful with your first use of pure molasses.

Besides the molasses, have you brewed that recipe before?

If not, you will not know to a point exactly where some of your flavours are coming from.

I think it's a very interesting question you pose. I've used honey in brews numerous times & it ferments out in exactly the same way, leaving the residual flavour behind after the yeast has chomped away the sugar content of its make-up.

I found 375gms of Honey to be a good level that leaves a nice undertone flavour through the brew. However, you are brewing a heavy roasted malt flavoured beer.

If it were me first time at bat looking at the brew you are planning using the molasses, I'd throw 375gms at that darker brew, given my liking for that same amount of honey in a lighter style brew.

My 2 cents.

Good luck with it Wayno! [biggrin]

Anthony.

Hi Beer