Coopers Community

What could go wrong with a plastic hydrometer

johns45

I'm just getting started brewing so I got a Coopers kit. So my issue is the plastic hydrometer. I took the inital SG reading after getting things going and it read 1035 (at 24C). I'm aware that bubbles can cause issues with the reading so I spun it etc. to get ride of bubbles. I set it aside to do some other things and about 15 minutes later it was reading less at around 1032. I thought this was odd so at left it another 30 minutes and it went down further to 1029. Although I thought this was odd I thought it was possible some "stuff" was coming out of solution. So I went on with the process and tonight after a week I decided to take the hydrometer reading. I got my sample and the reading was 995. So I decided this thing was going to need some calibrating and threw it in some 20C water. Well that didn't work as it sunk to almost the top of the hydrometer. I think it's reading 975 (if I scale back to the top) in 20C water. So any thoughts out there on what's going on. It doesn't appear to be taking on beer/water. The intial reading was resonable but from then on things were going down hill. Thanks for any help.

It could be that the hydrometer is out a few anyway. Nevertheless....

My readings used to often be below 1.000 which was caused by foreign bacteria/yeasts munching out on my brew.

What is your sterilising and sanitising regime?

My plastic Hydrometer lasted two brews, well thats when I noticed it was way out anyway.. really p*ssed off about it actually, I was looking forward to a unbreakable hydrometer, gone back to my faithful glass one. And hopefully have a Refractometer soon..... $$$$$