Coopers Community

Potential bottle bombs - should I recap?

Phil Mud

Ok, I suspect I'm being paranoid and while I'm brand new to brewing I have read enough forum advice to know that most of the time you should leave things alone and be patient.

Having said that, my first batch in glass bottles was bottled 5 days ago and I'm trying to determine their potential to explode. The brew was in primary for 14 days and reached FG after 7 of these so at the time of bottling I was very confident that it had finished fermenting. I used coopers carbonation drops and used 2 per longneck. There are a couple of factors now that make me unsure of the stability of this batch:

a) I did fill 4 PET bottles with this brew and they are already feeling quite tight and pressurised. To check just how carbonated they are I opened a tallie - it gave a similar hiss to a commercial brew and I poured about 15ml into a glass and tasted it (very nice!!) - it's not far off the sort of carbonation I was expecting - after only 5 days! Is that abnormal or is it logical to assume that it will continue to carbonate and blow my house to smithereens?

b) I'm unsure about the chemistry of the fermentables, which included demerara sugar and golden syrup. Is it likely/possible that while the bulk of the fermentation had finished there was still some activity from these sugars that was so minimal it wasn't affecting my SG readings?

Possibly also relevant to mention is that I used Danstar Nottingham Ale yeast (1x11g), while it took about 7 days to reach FG the bulk of the activity happened in the first 4 days (I took SG readings too frequently[pinched] ) - is it likely that the carbonation drops have fermented in a similar timeframe? I was under the impression that this process takes a couple of weeks, but maybe not?

What do you think? Should I release the gas and recap to be safe or am I just worrying about nothing?