Coopers Community

Coopers PET Bottles

DavidP19

Hi all,

I have been brewing for many years using glass and recently decided to give PET a go because they are so easy to get and so light and easy to use. I really like the idea and was kean to give them a try.

The first batch I bottled into PET went well, placed caps on nice and tight and placed in a controlled fridge at 22 degrees C for a week.

At the end of the week I checked that they had pressure, and also randomly checked a cap... to my surprise I was able to tighten the cap 1/8th of a turn, checked all the others and they were the same. I assumed at that point that I had simply not tightened them enough on bottling day and tweaked them all up.

Today I went to the cupboard where they are now stored, averages this time of year around 24 to 26. I noticed a beer smell and pulled them all out. Two bottles had vented through the lid, loosing about 1cm of beer but they still had firm pressure, i checked all the lids again and I was able to tighten them all up about 1/8th of a turn again!

Those who have used PET extensively may be able to help me here, is it necessary to regularly check the caps to make sure they are tight and tweak them? Has anyone else found that they loosen over time?

I have done another batch in some more of the pet bottles, I have made extra sure that the caps are as tight as I can get them at bottling day, as of day 4 since bottling they appear to have remained tight...

They are new bottles, new caps... I really would like to change to PET, my glass bottles are getting very old and replacing them is expensive and difficult, but my first experience with them have given me some concerns.

Thanks for reading, think I may go have a beer now [biggrin]

Cheers

Dave

Hi Dave,

I have used PET bottles a lot and have never experienced what you describe in new or even old bottles. Maybe it was a dud batch?