Coopers Community

Newbie! Ready to bottle???

ChrisMack

Hi guys, a very green newbie here with a few questions....

I have had my first brew down for just on a week now (fermentation seems to have stopped using the much hated air-lock look)

I drew a sample this morning to test the gravity and got a reading of 1.012 (I used a coppertun dextrose enhancer) instructions say that this gravity is fine...Im aware I need to take a second reading tomorrow to finalise gravity for bottling...

However, I've seen a few vids that show peoples samples as being rather clearish...my drawn sample seems to be rather cloudy - it smells like beer and dear I say it, even at this early it tastes "kinda" like beer from a boutique brewery...all good!?! It even had a very slight hint of carbonation....

So Questions....

1: If I get a second reading of 1.012 is it all good to bottle?

2: Is the "cloudyness" anything to worry about or is it just surplus particles that will settle after bottling?

3: Is the very slight carbonation an issue?

Sorry if these are stupid questions....[pinched] Thanks for any help.

Cheers,

Chris

P.S. cloudyness probably isnt helped by the continual aftershocks from our 7.1 earthquake back in September (Christchurch, New Zealand) - had a 5.1 shake this morning...if watching my fishtank contents swirl around is anything to go by....I would hate to think what happens inside the fermenter....[crying]

Hi Chris - I'm not sure what dextrose enhancer is. The name implies that it is dextrose mixed with something else?

I wouldn't worry to much about cloudiness - I tend to leave my beers in the fermentor for about 2 weeks which loosely translates to 1 week fermentation a plus one week for the beer to clear a bit. Your beer will also clear up with bottle conditioning with sediment settling and compacting on the bottom of the bottle with age.