Coopers Community

First dud brew

Macca

As I am new to the Home brew world and loving it I might add, I have experienced my first dud brew after successfully completing five others from which one was a Larger. It was my latest Coopers Larger that sopmething went wrong. It was very light in colour in the fermenter with no indication of smelling off. I thought bottle any way and see. After opening not good. Still light colour good creamy head but taste like flyspray. When yeast added temp was 27deg. During fermentation 25deg. OG 1036 FG 1012.

Any ideas what may have gone wrong?

Cheers Macca.

Hi there, im assuming after you had successfully brewed a few batches before sanitation isn't an issue? Were the bottles scrubbed out?

As you had stated the brew didn't smell off so maybe contamintation happened while bottling. Your Brew temp maybe be on the high side which can effect final taste, but ive never heard of one tasting like flyspray.

With these temps did the fermentation finish pretty quickly?

Iam almost positive that your brew is infected, even though u are more experienced than me, but i read a post from another forum where he explained how the taste of different infections are, and one rare he compared the taste to chemical liquids such as cleaning substanses and so on so i think he ment sort of like what u experience with bug spray taste, and what he had to say about that bacteria was just to pour it out, personally i dont think its good for you

Still something to think about. If they are bottled into PETs and are not overpressured, I think I would be leaving them a little longer in the bottle.

Although if they have been in the bottle for a fair (over a month or so) while I would be starting to think about dumping it. Plants seem to like infected beer.

Macca, do you have more details about how you clean and what sanitising chemical you use for the FV, equipment and bottles? Do you remove the tap and clean around the threads