Coopers Community

a few questions from a beginner

brianc6

well to start off i must ask has anyone ever had any beer bomb problems in the past as i am new to the brew so dont want to have any experiences in this subject :) i have bottled in pet for the past few weeks but want to take the plunge into glass but dont have any knowledge when it comes to this area so have to ask you helpful experienced brewmasters here, second of all i want to move into all grain mashing but want to know how hard it really is or easy it is and any advice any can give would be excellent thanks heaps [innocent]

I havent had beer bombs yet and hopefully wont have them.

I think key to avoiding beer bombs are few things:

1. complete fermentation - make sure its done, usual signs are - steady gravity readings for 3 days and beer is significantly clearing. if unsure, better leave it for few more days - dont worry, if you have followed sanitation rules, your beer will be fine sitting on yeast cake easily for 1 month, maybe even more.

2. using proper amount of priming sugar - do not ever overdose on priming sugar and make sure, if you use bulk priming, to dissolve it properly.

3. sanitation - clear and sanitize with great care to avoid infecting your beer in bottles that can lead to exploding bottles.

have I forgotten something?

Hi Brian - Andris has covered it except I'd add use suitable bottles that are made to be refilled. Coopers longnecks are the best but I also use Grolsch swing tops. You can use regular beer bottles but you will have a greater risk of bombs - I used to use non refillable twist top bottles and had 2 from about 500 explode.