Coopers Community

Beginner Coopers Lager kit - Which yeast, which enhancer?

JoeCMorgan

I've recently purchased the Coopers Lager kit (https://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.uk/acatalog/Coopers_40_pint_Lager_Beer_Kit.html), which comes with Brew Enhancer 1. I've also purchased a Copers Bootmaker Pale Ale kit (https://www.the-home-brew-shop.co.uk/acatalog/coopers-bootmaker-pale-ale-beer-kit.html), as well as SafAle-US 05 yeast as I've read it's meant to be a lot better than the yeast supplied with the kits.

I'd like the brew the Lager first, however I've read that BE1 + SafAle-US 05 + Coopers Lager kit may not be the best combination. I was hoping that someone may be able to point me in the right direction regarding a nice tasting, easy to make beginners Lager, using the lager kit. As in, which is the best yeast and best BE to use with this kit (I'm aware it's all personal preference, but as I've never done this before I'm just hoping for a Lager that I can drink and tastes half decent...). I've read about DME's and LME's and am just getting a bit confused as to what's best to use for a first brew.

If anyone can also offer advice on the best way to brew the Bootmaker Pale Ale as well that would be great.

With both kits I'm happy to experiment a bit (if recommended).

Thanks in advance,

Joe

Hi Joe,

Welcome to the forum, and the hobby!

I suspect that a lot of forum members would advise you to ditch all of the the brew enhancers in favour of using all malt, either 1.5kg light liquid malt extract (LME), or 1kg dry malt extract (DME), whichever is cheaper in your area. That will give you a much nicer beer. Brew Enhancers are mostly dextrose and un-fermentable maltodextrin. BE1 doesn't contain any DME, BE2 has a bit (250gm), and I believe BE3 has 500gm.