Coopers Community

Experimenting brew help,

CoryD

Im Fairly new to the home brewing community, i have just been brewing coopers kits as per the can, but lately i have been trying/drinking craft beers and wotching brew master on discovery channel. I wouldnt mind giving it ago, making my own creations and receipes, i was just wondering is there any hints ot tips, plus any suggested receipes to try out? any advice would be appreciated.

Hi Cory,

Sorry to say that there is no "one sentence solution" to your question. I suggest you get a few books from the library and read them. When you are not reading those books surf this forum for nuggets of info that are discussed here daily. The very questions you are asking are common questions that can be answered for yourself with a bit of research. Then when you are sick of reading and studying up on the matter then jump into the brewery and start practising. Brew as much beer as time allows you. Drink said beer. See what you like for yourself. Practise more. Drink more. Study more...etc.[biggrin]

When you have a specific question on a recipe or brewing technique ask away.[rightful]

Good Luck & happy brewing

i think the main questions i have are, can you boil the brew kits and add like spices. peels of fruits and essences to change the flavours or is it better to put them in a mesh cloth to soak in the fermenting beer?? if that makes any sense lol??

i think the main questions i have are' date=' can you boil the brew kits and add like spices. peels of fruits and essences to change the flavours or is it better to put them in a mesh cloth to soak in the fermenting beer?? if that makes any sense lol??[/quote']

Best not to boil the kits as you'll lose flavours from boiling out the hops.

If you want to add those things you can steep them before fermenting. But your way of "dry hopping" them could work. I'm not sure how much flavour will be released at fermentation temps, though