Coopers Community

How do you steep your grain???

Jarvo_325

How do you steep your grain

I have done it once but not sure if I did it right so I\u2019m seeing how others make the most of steeping grains and hoping they will share with me their wisdom to get the most flavour from the grain without producing any tannins etc.

Cheers

Thanks Yob

So do I put the grains in cold water put it on the hot plate till the reach around 70 degrees, do I need to keep them at that temp range for a bit?

How long would you keep them in water for?

Cool didn't know about the leave in cold water bit.

I'm far from an expert, but I've read that you should not stir the grain bag around and do not squeeze the bag to get the last of the liquid out. Just let it drain while holding it out of the wort.

Maybe someone with more experience could explain this better.

What they are probably referring to is over rinsing, over rinsing can leeds to tannin extraction from the husks, if you sparge to below about 1010 you will be extracting tannins.

If however you are not rinsing you do not run this risk and every drop can be squeezed out, I don't use a bag in the traditional way, I have a pot in a pot with a perforated bottom on the inner pot, this allows for a good sparge, my bag goes over the inner pot, hard to explain, will get some piccies of it.

Yob

What they are probably referring to is over rinsing, over rinsing can leeds to tannin extraction from the husks, if you sparge to below about 1010 you will be extracting tannins.

If however you are not rinsing you do not run this risk and every drop can be squeezed out, I don't use a bag in the traditional way, I have a pot in a pot with a perforated bottom on the inner pot, this allows for a good sparge, my bag goes over the inner pot, hard to explain, will get some piccies of it.

Yob