Coopers Community

Trouble keeping bottles warm enough for 2nd fermentation???

Sculpty

G'day,

Please forgive if this question has been asked before (I tried searching first).

I recently moved from Adelaide to Mount Gambier - where it is very cold and getting colder ;-)

I am having trouble keeping my bottles at a temperature where the secondary fermentation can take place. I therefore have 2 questions please...

- Any suggestions for space and energy efficient ways of keeping bottles warm for a week or two?

- Will the yeast have any problems getting started again once the bottles get up to temp... should I shake them or anything?

Thanks so much.

PS, I've been brewing for about 8 years, but I have had a spell of 5 years where I have not done any... just started up again and finding all sorts of new challenges due to the location. I still have loads to learn.

On ya!

G'day Andrew - Welcome [biggrin]

I tend to keep my beers in the living area and kitchen cupboards for a couple of weeks when the weather is cold. But I'm in Sydney and it doesn't get too cold here.

Have you got an indoor hot water heater? If so kee the bottles near it to keep them warm.

If you have an old fridge (working or not) you could use it as a warm box using a lamp in a terracotta pot.

Cheers for the quick reply Muddy Waters.

Yeah... no hot areas at all, only gas heating in family room... I have all the bottles in front of the heater at the moment and the wife isn't all that happy about it (fair enough too - it is a bit of a hurdle to jump over on the floor).

I'm trying to find some styrene boxes to store them in but no luck yet.

Night times it gets around 5-7 degrees at the moment.