Coopers Community

Second failed brew with Coopers Light Dry Malt

HeathS4

Hey guys,

I have been looking on these forums for some time however have just recently signed up as member.

I am new to home brewing and have brewed 5 batches to date.

I have had 2 attempts at an American Pale Ale style recipe which have both failed.

The recipe is basic but goes like this:

1 Can of CPA

1KG LDM

250G Dextrose

Casacade hops for both bittering and aroma.

So the first batch tasted sour and quite bitter with a very low SG at 7 days. (Less than 1.002) Burnt my nose like ammonia so I chucked it. The brew had little white clumps in it. So i am thinking it was infected.

My second attempt is turning out the same. Doesn't smell quite as offensive but has the same tastes and little white clumps after 4 days. Also burning my nose when I sniffed while adding the 2nd hop bag.

I am meticulous with sanitisation so I am not sure what I am doing wrong here.

I ask the pro's:

Is it the recipe?

Am I using the LDM in the correct manor?

I would be most grateful for any tips and pointers.

Thanks in advance.

Heath

There may be nothing wrong with it.

The burning sensation is likely to be CO2 bite, a normal symptom while the brew is fermenting. Draw off a sample and have a smell and a taste.

Can you give us step by step details of the recipe method?

Also, your cleaning and sanitation method?

hey paul whats the go mate now k-mart and safeway don't sell dextrose anymore mate wtf has happened , I agree with who ever said it they say shop local but the way it's goin the only place to get the coopers stuff is gonna be through online or hb stores that sux

Brian, I'm not sure how your post is related to the topic??

Independent grocery stores can get Dextrose on their shelves as Metcash, the warehouse for independents, has it. K mart should stock it but they are having some trouble sorting direct to store ordering. Big W stocks our whole range.

Hi all,

Thanks for the replies.