Coopers Community

Question: Coopers Microbrew Kit & Included Lager Kit

zyx345

First post on this forum. Thanks for having me.

I'm a complete beginner to home brewing and just bought the Coopers Microbrewery kit. I mostly drink hoppy beers like IPAs and American Style Pale Ales.

I'm considering buying and brewing the Coopers IPA Kit seperately however I have the Lager kit that came with the Microbrew package and I'm curious as to how the end result would taste before I commit to brewing it.

My quesiton is, if I brew the Lager and follow the instructions, will the end result taste very similar to the retail bottled version of Coopers Lager?

Also how does the Coopers IPA Kit compare to other IPAs, i.e. Dogfish Head?

Our Coopers Lager Beer Kit was in production many years before the beer - Coopers Premium Lager. So they are not similar.

If you appreciate plenty of hop aroma/flavour you might be better off waiting until you have some hops to dry hop the Lager Beer Kit. or treat the first brew as a learning experience and make it up as oper the instructions to see how it turns out [biggrin]

If I understand correctly the coopers original series, ie the Lager only have bittering and no (or very little) flavour or aroma hops. So if you like hops I would add your own, also I would not use sugar if you can get some 'light dry malt' when you buy some hop pellets.

Then follow the kit instructions with these differences using the malt instead of the sugar that the kit tells you to use.

1. Boil some water in a big pot on the stove.

2. remove from heat and throw in 1kg of light dry malt, stir until it is all gone.

3. Turn heat back on and bring it back to the boil.