Coopers Community

Just tried my first batch tonight!

MichaelP4

Just on three weeks after bottling my first brew (lager) and I'm pleasantly surprised to say it's great!

Am a little worried about the 2nd batch though, I accidentally poured in about 700ml or so too much water. Oh and Poured the water in before I put the sugar in...(was having a bad day) and the hydrometer was only reading 1010 for 3 days in a row.(Though it was cold- and I read how that can stray the hydrometers readings). But on taste test that 2nd batch still tasted like decent (full-strength)beer to me, not weak, or like a light beer as the hydrometer indicated... Am I just being too paranoid?

After reading alot of different posts on here, it seems there's A LOT more variables in homebrewing than I realised!

Congrats on your first batch. I am no expert but 700ml extra water is of no concern. As for the slow ferment it is my understanding that larger yeast can stand a little cold. Hope all goes well mate. I am sure some of the gurus here will have some sound advise [cool]

I think it's because it is technically an ale, but a really decent copy of a Lager. Ale is more forgiving to brew, thus it's beginner friendly[happy] I like the fact that I can get a good ale or lager without using a brew fridge. I will have a brew fridge soon though, then I can start experimenting with the lagers a little better. I've made a few batches of the Pilsner and they've been alright but not really stellar lagers. I think temp control has been the issue [annoyed] A brew fridge and a little more patience should fix that.

Hmm, I forget what the difference between Original Gravity and Final gravity is. It's just the first and last times you tested it right? If so it was 1010, which is why I thought the reading was wrong, because surely just putting in that extra bit of water isn't going to dilute it so it's a 1% beer ( according to the hydrometer)...