Coopers Community

europen lager, (Lagering??)

JaredW

Hi again i put down a brew of europen lager until it was at the recomended gravity for bottling, i have bottled and it is on its second week of carbonation, i have read a few things about brewing lager and im now not sure what to do, do i put the bottles in the fridge to lager?? after carbonation and for how long?? is this the right sequence or have i stuffed it up so to speek,

Hi Jared, I'm new to this stuff too but I have made a few batches of the Thomas Cooper's Pilsner (which is a lager) I've found that extended time bottle conditioning makes for a very tasty brew, even without the fancy lagering techniques mentioned on this site. I tend to ferment at the high range for lagers and still seem to have decent success, although I am stressing the yeast a bit. Good luck with your brew and my advice is to confrim that it is carbonated after a few weeks in bottles, then put it away for a month or two.

hi i have the bottles in the hot water cubbord were i keep the fermenting barrel so the temp is between 22c and 26c. it is usualy steady at 22c however on ocasion it will rise a bit higher to 26,

At this stage, the yeast should have worked sufficienlty to gas up the bottles so now they are just conditioning. You can leave them where they are or remove them to a cooler place.

Why not conduct your own experiment - over 3 mths keep two stored in the fridge, two in the cupboard and two somewhere else (not as cold as the fridge but not as warm as the cupboard). Then chill them down and do a side-by-side taste test. [biggrin]