Coopers Community

New brewing room

Redbeard

Hi guys, great site this is.

I have been brewing into bottles for awhile and was getting 18L soft drink kegs filled at a local micro brewery, but have my first brew ready to rack into a keg tomorrow.

Anyway I want to build my own brewing room, come celler area and i have collected enough bricks,timber,sheet metal and other bits and peices for the job and i have a 500 acre property so space isnt a issue

Being a plumber I intend to add a double trough, hot water system and a pot belly for wintery nights brewing, bottling, kegging and of course sampling.

My question to you guys is how would you set this up?

What size,shape and heights are needed?

I have been considering reverse brick veneer for the job or i could go with plain old fashion double brick.

Will it need an air cond?

I dont really want the expense of running AC as i have been working on a fridge for a brewing box, and the new building will stand in the shade of a much lager machinery shed.

But will the AC help with natural conditioning of brews in the hot summer months? when we get 45C temps.

Has anyone done this before?

Can you post up some pics or plans.

I can build anything i just need the right information to do it correctly.

Thanks guys

Hi Redbeard,

After constructing 2 cellars at various homes in the past, I recommend building it underground. Assuming you already have a house built, you could build a shed over the top to assist cooling in summer . I have successfully done this with building a cellar with bricks, but it's important to make it waterproof.

WA gets hot like Adelaide, and keeping an above ground brick building insulated in summer will be the biggest challenge in summer without AC. A useful reference helpful to my cellar was "Setting up your own Wine Cellar" by James Halliday

Regards, Bear

Cheers Bear, thats the sort of ideas i want.

Never though of putting it under ground, and i have already poured concrete for the house.