Coopers Community

Brewing with Mangrove Jack's M76 Bavarian Lager yeast

joolbag

Hey guys, this is my first try with the Mangrove Jack’s M76 lager yeast and I started this thread to share my experience and to hear from others who have (or plan to) use this yeast.

I brewed a partial-mash Munich Helles on Saturday night. OG = 1053. I rehydrated 2 x packets of Mangrove Jack’s M76 Bavarian Lager yeast in 200mL previously boiled water, cooled to 22C. The yeast was left for approx 15mins to rehydrate as per the MJ website recommendations.

I didn’t get the temp as low as I would have liked for pitching, but it wasn’t overly high. 15.8C. Tipped the whole yeast cream in.

I left the fermenter at ambient temperature, in a water bath to increase the “heat bank” and minimise swings to due night lows and day highs.

In the morning (8 hours later) the fermenter had cooled to 10.2C. It cooled a bit quicker to a lower temp than what I would have liked.

No visible activity for 24 hours, maybe the slightest bubbles on top. This morning (32 hours) about the same, perhaps a few more small bubbles on top, nothing happening in the airlock. Temp of the water bath is 11.5C now so something is happening in the brew. Rather slow going, but this is a lager yeast after all and I’m not overly concerned. My sanitation and hygiene for this brew was top notch.

I plan to keep this thread alive for this brew and the next and will update at each stage. Am going to harvest the yeast cake from this beer and pitch it into a pilsner recipe. I expect it to take off a lot quicker for the 2nd go, just like when I harvested, washed and pitched the W34/70 yeast. It took off like a rocket!

Ha! This is a yeast for Lusty. If you thought BRY-97 was a slow starter, try this lager yeast.

Even at 48hrs there were barely a few patches of fine bubbles developing. By 56 hrs it was rocking n rolling, full coverage and 8mm dense krausen.

Def not a yeast for the stress-heads!

• 2 weeks later...