Coopers Community

Brewing Musos

Beeblebrox

I've been back into brewing a few years now, & know that I'm not the only brewer that's also a muso.

I thought it may be a good idea to have a thread for those of us that like to knock out a few tunes as well as a few brews.

So I guess the obvious questions are:

What instrument/s do you play?

What style/s of music do you like?

What style/s of music do you play?

Do you just play for fun, or do you play gigs?

Are you in a band or solo?

How long have you been playing?

How often do you practice?

- I know it seems obvious, but not everyone plays the same stuff they listen to, especially if they write some of their own music.

What gear do you have?

I'm a guitarist, (& a terrible harmonica player & slide guitarist) & I have:

1 x Fender Acoustic/pickup guitar - in need of new tuners

1 x Fender Squier Affinity HSS Strat

1 x Ibanez RG350 - in desperate need of setup/repair

1 x Ibanez RX Gio (Ibanez version of a Gibson SG)

1 x Epiphone ES 339 pro

1 x Fender Frontman 15G (practice) amp

1 x Crate G60XL amp

various leads, multi effects & other effects pedals etc, including a BR BR80 & Zoom G1XON.

I feel old even typing this, but I've been playing for 27 years; though there have been times where my guitar collection has dwindled down to one or two guitars, & they've gathered dust for years between playing.

Currently I try to practice at least an hour every day, & have a session for 2 hours every weekend with a neighbour who's a much more experienced player. (Also a bit longer in the tooth than me.)

I listen to all sorts of music, from classical, to jazz, blues, rock, hard rock, a little of the older school metal, funk, rockabilly, soul, etc.

I tend to mostly play rock, with some blues; mostly classic rock & some blues standards.

Over the years I've written some music, but only others that have played with me or who I've been close to (partners & friends) have heard some of the stuff I've written.