Coopers Community

AG - What do I need?

Hi All,

I have been brewing Extract for around 1 year now and am looking to move into something a bit more challenging.

I have been reading all the posts about All Grain and BIAB setups.

Can someone let me know what I need to get started with All Grain? I do not want to spend a lot of $$$ and I have minimal space in my garage.

Currently I have a brew fridge and both 30L and 15L FV

BIAB looks like the best option to me however I am a newbie and want to ease into the AG brewing.

Appreciate feedback from more experienced brewers out there :)

Cheers,

Mike

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

BIAB is probably the simplest option for getting into AG brewing. You can either do this with an electric urn, or a pot and gas burner set up. Or a smaller pot on the stove for small batches. If it was me I'd just go the bigger pot or urn straight up; you can always brew smaller batches in a big pot, but you can't brew bigger batches in a small one.

The Crown urns usually go for between $250-$300, plus your grain bag, hop sock if you want one. And you're pretty much ready to go. A 3 piece ball valve is a useful addition as well. Not sure of the costs for the pot and burner set up though. I started with an urn in 2012 and am still using it now. cool

Thanks Otto,

Can you send me a link as to where I can get the Urn from?

Do you have a step by step process for brewing say an easy Pale Ale?

What is the rough cost for an AG brew compared to Extract?

What do you do for chilling the wort? Do you have an immersion chiller?

Thanks for the info..

Always helpful :)

Places like Craftbrewer or National Home Brew sell them. There are probably others too. I got mine from Craftbrewer. http://craftbrewer.com.au/shop/details.asp?PID=2936 They were cheaper when I got mine, but that was 3 and a half years ago.

It's a pretty simple process, I'll give a rough overview of what I do (note: I have a grain mill too);