Coopers Community

Partial Mash Question

ChristinaS1

Hi all,

I am still a partial mash beginner. I have only done a few very small ones, mashing a bit of Aromatic, with limited success; I may have been doing them wrong. At the end of the mash I have just been heating the wort to stop the enzymes, then adding it to my Coopers kit. Occasionally I have used the partial mash wort to boil my flavour and/or aroma hop additions, but I have not been paying attention to whether or not hot break has occurred.

Before going any further down the partial mash road (I am thinking about increasing the size of my partial mashes to 2kg - mostly base malts) I want to make sure I am doing them right. Do I indeed have to boil the partial mash if I add it to a pre-hopped kit? If so, for how long? I suppose it is necessary to boil it at least until hot break occurs? Do I have to boil it any longer than that? Thanks in advance for your help everyone. Looking forward to your answers. happy

Do I have to boil it any longer than that? Thanks in advance for your help everyone. Looking forward to your answers. happy

Yes, you need to boil off DMS precursors. I would go a minimum of 30 minutes.

This has some good information ... http://beersmith.com/blog/2012/04/10/dimethyl-sulfides-dms-in-home-brewed-beer/ no need to boil for 90 minutes however.

Do I have to boil it any longer than that? Thanks in advance for your help everyone. Looking forward to your answers. happy

Yes' date=' you need to boil off DMS precursors. I would go a minimum of 30 minutes.

This has some good information ... http://beersmith.com/blog/2012/04/10/dimethyl-sulfides-dms-in-home-brewed-beer/ no need to boil for 90 minutes however.[/quote']

Wow, something else to worry about. w00t I had no idea.

Thanks for the link Ben. smile It was very informative.

Hi Christina.

+1 to what Ben said.