Coopers Community

15ltr Pot - Compact Stove Top BIAB

joules

Hi, I wanted to make a ~7% ABV AG 10ltr batch and it turned out great.

All up about 2.90kg of grain and efficiency of ~74%. OG/FG 1.066/TBA

This means I could probably get away with a 15ltr batch of a lower ABV.

The problem I feel was sparging ~1.75ltr of 70°C water - it probably wasn't enough.

60min boil took it down to from (10.5 pre sparge) 12.25 to 8 liters.

Anyone else have experience with stove top BIAB?

1) Is there any issue with creating a more concentrated wort? Of course I had to top up with cold water and refridgerate the FV (pitched @ 1am cool)

2) Who has experience with a concentrated mash? (I suppose mine ended up being 5:1?)

2) Is it ok to sparge with more much more water (say 4 liters and damn that boil will be close to the top!) for a longer boil?

I'm still learning as I go and this recipe is a bit of a hybrid.

Critique encouraged.

G'day Joules,

1) I've done a few batches ending up with 50% of my target fermenter volume post-boil. I chilled with an ice bath and then topped up with tap water in the fermenter and everything tasted fine. I didn't do any hop utilization adjustments for the partial boil and the bitterness turned out pretty much what I was after. I simply used my target fermenter volume in IBU calculations.

2) I wouldn't call 5:1 a concentrated mash. I usually mash in my cooler at around 3 litres/kg, so yours is a fairly thin mash. I've done full volume BIAB batches at around the same ratio before and they turned out fine.

3) It's also fine to withhold more water and sparge with it. With my cooler mashes around half of my pre-boil volume comes from my batch sparge. Honestly I don't notice any difference in beer quality with a full volume no-sparge BIAB brew in my kettle vs a batch-sparged brew in my cooler. I still use a grain bag in my cooler as a false bottom.