Coopers Community

malt vs sugar vs dextrose

harryup

Hi all,

I'm new to the brewing game, (never put one down), but got a Coopers kit and gonna have a go.

Tried a mate's Coopers draught and it's quite OK but I like a maltier beer with a better "kick" to it so my questions are:

Can I add malt extract to the brew and if so, do I have to reduce the amount of sugar?

I don't want to buy the Coopers adders in tins, rather do it myself.

I've read that adding dextrose instead of sugar to the bottles adds a creamier head. T or F?

How can I get the alcohol content up to around 4 - 4.5%?

Which brew can would be best for a first crack at it bearing in mind I like a malty beer?

Thanks for any input (-;

G'day harryup, & welcome to the forum.

Can I add malt extract to the brew and if so' date=' do I have to reduce the amount of sugar?[/quote']

That depends on a couple of things. 1. The ABV% you are looking for, & 2. What sort of flavour you want in the beer itself. Given you enjoy malty beers, try to use more malt based fermentables & limit the amount of detrose/sugar you use to smallish amounts.

I've read that adding dextrose instead of sugar to the bottles adds a creamier head. T or F?
F. To the best of my knowledge head development & head retention are a combination of sufficient carbonation combined with having sufficient remaining body in the beer.
How can I get the alcohol content up to around 4 - 4.5%?

I'm pretty sure most (if not all) of the Coopers 1.7kg kits combined with 1kg of dry malt extract & 100gms of dextrose/sugar will produce a beer at approx. 4.5%ABV when brewed to 23 litres.

Which brew can would be best for a first crack at it bearing in mind I like a malty beer?

What sort of commercial beers do you like to drink? unsure

I hope that helps.

Cheers' date='

Lusty.[/size']

Hey harryup

Welcome to the forum you are in dangerous territory now.