Coopers Community

Irish Stout Thomas Coopers selection anything like Guinness?

JoeS1

Hi All

Im new to homebrewing, about to bottle my first beer, the Coopers mexican cerveza and would now like to brew a Guinness clone, the Irish stout seems to be a good start.

I have searched here and other forums and the web but am a little confused as to the best recipe for a Guinness clone beer.

Some have said just use the Irish stout can and follow the instructions and also add 100Grams of steeped dark malt.

Others have said instead of making it up to 23litres, only make it to approx 18/20Litres to make it creamier

Are there any ideas here?

thanks in advance

There are different versions of Guinnnes around the world. So, I guess it depends on what Guinness you have in mind??

I developed the Thomas Coopers Irish Stout beer kit (using the recommended recipe on the label) to make a beer somewhere between the Murphy's and Guinness versions (in the 440ml can with the widget).

Of course, you can get a lot closer to the style if you use nitrogen in a keg set-up[wink]

You are yet to tell me what version of Guinness you have in mind. So advising on dark malt additions is a "shot in the dark"...

The addition of 200g dark malt (assuming it is dry) would be quite okay but it would be moving away from the 440ml can Guinness beer.

• 6 months later...

Have just opened the first bottle of a Guinness recipe that I found on another website and it is starting to really taste like the real thing!

Coopers Stout

600g dextrose

400g light malt

500g golden syrup

Fuggles finishing hops

• 2 weeks later...

I have made many brews of Coopers Stout.

The consistency & good taste kept me making again & again.

Then I tasted a friends stout which to me seemed very like the Guinness then available from a keg.