Coopers Community

James Squire Golden Ale

Clinster

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I had a nice brew down that is close to the JSGA.

1 tin Thomas Coopers Sparkling Ale

1.5kg Coopers pale liquid malt extract

15g @ 15mins

15g @ 5 mins

15g dry hopped in secondary

Kit yeast

8L of water, add the liquid malt bring to the boil. Add hops as above (time is given as minutes from the end of the boil). 1 week primary ferment at 18degC, rack, dry hop and leave for another week. Bulk primed with 170g dextrose. Leave a month and then enjoy. Mine have been in the bottle for 4 months now and just keep getting better.

Cheers

DrSmurto

Sorry forgot to add that im a newbie only done about 4 brews so all of what you explained was a bit over the top.

Is there an easier way to explain the process!?

Cheers Heaps! as im keen to try it!

:oops:

Amarillo it is. Cant get enough of this hop!

Clinster. Its a pretty simple brew. Walk ya thru it.

Put 8L of boiling water into a pot. Add the liquid malt extract, stir and once its boiling again add the 15g hops. Let it simmer for another 10 mins and then add another 15g of hops. Wait another 5 mins and then turn off the heat. Stir in the contents of the Coopers Sparkling Ale can. Cool this down using your preferred method (I get 3 of those esky blocks in a sink of water and sit the saucepan in it for 15 mins). Add to fermenter, top up to 23L. Pitch yeast at 18-20deg and leave to ferment for 7 days. Rack (transfer via food grade tubing) to another fermenter and add another 15g of hops directly to the barrel (or tie them up in a small piece of pantyhose). Leave for another 7 days and then bottle as usual.

If you dont have a 2nd fermenter or dont want to rack, simply drop the hops into primary once fermentation is done (~7 days). Leave 7 days and then bottle.

Pretty easy. A little bit of extra effort is worth it! If you dont have a pot big enough to boil 8L then do 4L and add only half the tin of malt. Continue as above.