Coopers Community

Seal on homebrew kit.

Moose

Hey all.

I have just started my first brew with the Coopers Micro Brew kit.

However I have been unable to get a good seal. The fermentation process seems to be going nicely.

The airlock is bubbling a tiny bit, not much.

There is condensation on the top of the lid which I believe is also a good indication that the fermentation process is under way.

Just wondering how important it is to get a good tight seal.

I am new to brewing so I will not be suprised if this brew doesn't work :P

Cheers.

Moose.

It's not absolutely required, if you feel the brew is indeed well underway and the lid is at least on, then that reduces your chance of contamination (especially as the fermentation will be creating a positive-pressure environment). If my fermenter wasn't sealig properly, the only thing I would be careful about is not leaving it too long after fermentation has finished to being bottling.

The gravity is down to 1010 now and the fermentation process seems to be very quiet.

There is no sign of infection, although I am worried that if the pressure drops in the fermenter infection may occur.

Well I bottled the brew, all seems to be fine.

However, upon further investigation into the inadequate seal, I have noticed that either the fermenter or the fermenter lids thread is a bit off, the lid will screw in fine until a certain point and then it *clicks* and one side is a quite bit higher than the other which stops it from sealing.

I noticed it when I first started the brew but didn't want to play with it due to the fact there was a brew starting :D

Is there a known problem with the fermenter or am I just the unlucky one? 8)

• 2 months later...
  • 1 month later...

ky jelly?!?

crikey that's a new one. I'd hate to get the taste of that in my beer. I dunno why it's necisarry to rub stuff on the seal... the O-ring is rubber.. and as you tighten it the rubber should squish against the plastic to make an air-tight seal.