Coopers Community

Just started and up to my 4th brew..

Stoo

Hi all.
Have a problem with head retention.
Making brews via the Coopers 23 ltr kit method. Been doing this for a little while now but still no head. Thoroughly clean gear. I use bleach to clean everything then run it over with sodium metabisulphate to rinse the bleach off to get rid of the remaining smell.
I am using the extract and the brew enhancer so not real complicated and also the carbonation drops in the bottles.
When I pour the beer, I get a good head of about an inch high but 30 secs later I have nothing. Glasses haven't seen soap or dishwasher liquids ever, and the beer itself has very fine bubbles throughout the life of the drink.
Just won't hold a head.
Recommendations, clues, all help appreciated...

• Like 1

newbie here as well mate, what was your SG and FG? I have found that brews that finish higher (than 1.010) with your ingredients still hold the head while brews that finish below 1.010 the head seems to die out. Also, some recipes ask for a 200g steep of grains - those brews I see head retention all the way down the glass, lacing all the way down, even with dirty glasses.

• Like 1

9 hours ago, Stoo said:

Hi all.
Have a problem with head retention.
Making brews via the Coopers 23 ltr kit method. Been doing this for a little while now but still no head. Thoroughly clean gear. I use bleach to clean everything then run it over with sodium metabisulphate to rinse the bleach off to get rid of the remaining smell.
I am using the extract and the brew enhancer so not real complicated and also the carbonation drops in the bottles.
When I pour the beer, I get a good head of about an inch high but 30 secs later I have nothing. Glasses haven't seen soap or dishwasher liquids ever, and the beer itself has very fine bubbles throughout the life of the drink.
Just won't hold a head.
Recommendations, clues, all help appreciated...

What will help with head formation and/or retention: