Coopers Community

has anyone made a dark/real ale toucan?

spuddox

51 minutes ago, spuddox said:

I'm thinking maybe too bitter but in that case would adding honey or something reduce bitterness if 

Hi Spud maybe a little lactose could help sweeten it up? I have no experience with honey. U could also add 1kg DME or a bit less, that will up the ABV tho of course and cause a big krausen with the 2 extract tins. I'm sure some of the others will give a more educated opinion/ and advice, cheers mate

thanks for the reply mate  I've been reading about lactose and I'll have to try it in something for sure now and my mates old man told me he always put honey in his home brews as it apparently reduces bitterness and also ups the abv but either way i got the cans cheap so I'm happy to experiment and hopefully learn from the process lol

• Like 1

• 4 months later...

I ended making this toucan near the end of last year and i added 1 kg of be3 with both full cans...it was interesting to say the least   it didn't taste bad at all really just strange compared to usual beers i've made and it also finished at 7.8% so it wasn't the best beer to just have a few glasses of after work cause it kicked in quite hard lol but really not a bad beer overall just different.

• Like 3

1 hour ago, spuddox said:

I ended making this toucan near the end of last year and i added 1 kg of be3 with both full cans...it was interesting to say the least   it didn't taste bad at all really just strange compared to usual beers i've made and it also finished at 7.8% so it wasn't the best beer to just have a few glasses of after work cause it kicked in quite hard lol but really not a bad beer overall just different.

Probably the kind of beer to be drinking in the cooler months at a heart warming 7.8%. 

• Like 2

On 10/27/2021 at 9:48 PM, Shamus O'Sean said: