Coopers Community

Coopers on special at Woolies

spuddox

First up Hi to everyone I'm a newbie to both the forum and brewing(3rd batch almost ready English bitter with extra malt etc.. at 6% already after 6 days in the fv just to try it lol) and just wanted to say thanks for all advice throughout the forum guys as i have been reading and learning heaps already and i was rapt to see real ale and dark ale is only $5.35 at Woolies today with 2023 use by dates so just thought I'd do a shout out about it lol

cheers

Paul

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I went back for more (Rye, Vic) and yes, $5.35 for the Dark Ale, Real Ale all gone, $1.30 for Carbo Drops.  Dex was cheap too (but not Coopers).  It's a worry because it looks like they are clearing more than just Real and Dark kits.  I hope not.  I am looking at a 40 or 50k drive to find a Big W or a Dan's; ( or, as I have been doing recently, buying my gear online from Coopers...and that's working out alright for me).

Woolies recently demerged with the Endeavour group.  The Financial review reported at the time...

Endeavour Group will have annual sales of around $10.6 billion (pro forma 2020) and earnings before interest and tax of $693 million.

It will own 1630 retail liquor stores under the Dan Murphy’s and BWS brands, specialty retail and online brands Cellarmasters, Langton’s, Jimmy Brings and Shorty’s Liquor, drinks manufacturer and supplier Pinnacle Drinks, as well as a portfolio of 332 licensed venues with 12,364 poker machines and about 290 TABs and KENO outlets.

The demerger will enable Woolworths to partially distance itself from the poker machines and gaming businesses, although Woolworths has said that was not the primary motivation for the split. "

I am just thinking out aloud but I wonder if untangling the liquor business from the supermarket business means Woolies will drop home brew lines from its supermarkets ?