Coopers Community

Coopers Craft IPA Recipes Too Malty

RDW

I’ve been brewing for several months with the craft kit, working my way through the database of recipes. Thus far I’ve tried 17 recipes and have been pretty impressed by most. The darker stouts and browns have been very good. The IPAs and pales not so. I’m a hop head and have dialled up the hops in the boil and the dry hop/hop tea and have found a good balance there for hop flavour, aroma and bitterness, but I do find that the recipes come out far too dark, malty, biscuity and caramel-y. Could this be the use of the malt extract pouch? Any thoughts or advice on leaving it out of a recipe and what that would do to the final brew, or replacing with DME? If I were to replace with DME would that help with body and alcohol content but reduce the heavy maltiness? Cheers!

39 minutes ago, RDW said:

I’ve been brewing for several months with the craft kit, working my way through the database of recipes. Thus far I’ve tried 17 recipes and have been pretty impressed by most. The darker stouts and browns have been very good. The IPAs and pales not so. I’m a hop head and have dialled up the hops in the boil and the dry hop/hop tea and have found a good balance there for hop flavour, aroma and bitterness, but I do find that the recipes come out far too dark, malty, biscuity and caramel-y. Could this be the use of the malt extract pouch? Any thoughts or advice on leaving it out of a recipe and what that would do to the final brew, or replacing with DME? If I were to replace with DME would that help with body and alcohol content but reduce the heavy maltiness? Cheers!