Coopers Community

PET bottles

Spursman

Anyone know how many uses we can get before it's time to replace the bottles? I've got around 90 that are in constant rotation and have noticed a few "soft" ones. I put that down to distorted caps but had one the other day where the cap looked normal.

Bottles are around 2 years old.

You should be able to use the PET bottles dozens of times @Spursman.  Basically keep using them until they do not work any more.  I have been brewing for over 4 years.  Although I keg now, I always do a couple of bottles with the extra volume in the FV.  In that time I have probably thrown 3 PET bottles for not being carbed.

I have about around 150 PET bottles, some of the original Coopers go back 5-6 years but as I have introduced extra FV's I have had to build up stocks of bottles, I have a few boxes of Mangrove Jacks & Morgan's, which are 750ml & also different colour with different colour  tops so it it easy to separate them for different brews - depending which are free at the time.

In an earlier discussion I have stated I have disposed of a few older ones due to the thread other than that, I feel if they are looked after they will last for years.

I also have a large collection of Coopers Longnecks & Grolsch bottles.

As Muzzy states some lids need replacing occasionally. 

3 minutes ago, Coopers DIY Beer Team said:

We've found that the threads on older bottles can wear to the point where new caps keep cross-threading, rather than screwing down to form a seal. That's probably the time to toss those bottles in the recycling.  

I have found it is only the odd one over a long period, probably because we brew too much, not drink, brew 😄

• Haha 1

Thanks everyone. Seems like I'll just be replacing tops for a few years.