Coopers Community

Lemon drop lager

DavidB

Hi everyone, 

Looking to do something a bit different and want to try a Coopers Golden Crown Lager kit with some lemon drop hops. Was thinking to add 1.5kg dry malt and 500g dex, but not sure how much lemon drop to add, or when to add it as I've never used it before. Also not sure if I should throw in any other hops that might compliment it. Any advice is appreciated. 

Dave. 

3 hours ago, DavidB said:

Hi everyone, 

Looking to do something a bit different and want to try a Coopers Golden Crown Lager kit with some lemon drop hops. Was thinking to add 1.5kg dry malt and 500g dex, but not sure how much lemon drop to add, or when to add it as I've never used it before. Also not sure if I should throw in any other hops that might compliment it. Any advice is appreciated. 

Dave. 

I haven't used lemon drop just yet but I'd imagine boiling up some of the dry malt in a couple of litres of water and then steeping some hops for 15 minutes might be ok. Also use 50g or so for a dry hop. It all depends on your taste buds at the end of the day. 

Yep as AussieK said it depends on taste. The method he described is pretty much the starndard method to flavour a kit. If you want a bigger hit of the Lemondrop, or any other hops, go to 4g/L or higher with the dry hop.   

I've used lemon drop and like it. I'd drop those amounts suggested above to 25g in the 'tea' and 25 as dry hops. Unless you are a big fan of lemon beer? They deliver quite the lemon flavour and aroma so start lower I would say - you can bump it up next time if you wish. My reasoning is better to have a beer with something pleasant that you might like more of than something that's a pain to drink because there's too much of it.

Having said that, if it IS too much, you can always just leave it a few weeks - hops tends to fade over time.

Edited by Journeyman
  • Like 2