Coopers Community

Pacific summer ale

Hey brewers!

Just a quick question, I'm looking at giving the Pacific summer ale recipe a go but my lhbs was out of stock of summer hops so I decided to get some Saaz hops. Has anyone used these hops for this recipe? Or can anyone see any issues with using them?

It's only my 2nd brew (the first was a stone pale ale kit from craft a beer) so I'm extremely new to all this haha.

Thanks for any help or advice and happy brewing!

35 minutes ago, Milkandcookies420 said:

Hey brewers!

Just a quick question, I'm looking at giving the Pacific summer ale recipe a go but my lhbs was out of stock of summer hops so I decided to get some Saaz hops. Has anyone used these hops for this recipe? Or can anyone see any issues with using them?

It's only my 2nd brew (the first was a stone pale ale kit from craft a beer) so I'm extremely new to all this haha.

Excellent choice of beer 🙂 I really like the Pacific Summer ale. 

Summer hops are a little hard to come by. They are a descendent of Saaz and it is often said to be a suitable substitute but it lacks the fruity characteristics of Summer. I only know of one home brew store here in Brisbane which stocks Summer hops and usually buy them online as I use them in my AG Summer Ale as well. CraftBrewer sells them online, so maybe you want to check them out. 

Thanks for the replies! I think I will try ordering some summer hops online just so I'm not playing with the recipe just yet. Luckily I still have the lager that came with my kit so I'll get that going while I wait 😂

I'm very pleased to hear some good reviews about this beer too! It makes me feel as though I'm making a good choice haha

I've also tried ordering summer hops couple of weeks ago and they appear out in the few stores that have them (I tried Cheeky Peak).

Not sure there is an apt substitute, maybe try finding something that is complimentary to a pacific ale style, like the aforementioned galaxy, citra or mosaic?