Coopers Community

Dunkelweizen questions

Cassius

After trying and enjoying the Hefeweizen recipe, I thought I'd try the Dunkelweizen from the recipes resource. I've never used grains before and can't seem to locate Crystal Wheat Grain or Midnight Wheat Grain on the websites of the three LHBSs nearest to me. Is it possible they're under a different name or are they just a bit more obscure? Is there an easy swap from a more commonly used grain or an online store with a wider range that doesn't charge too much for shipping?

For yeast, the recipe says you can use a wheat yeast of your choice. I used MJs M20 for my first Hefeweizen and really enjoyed the flavour profile so was going to use it again. The first time I used it the attenuation was a bit less than expected (OG: 1.042, FG: 1.016) but still made a delicious beer so I didn't think much of it. Since then I did a bit more reading and read a post on another forum from a guy who said that it does an initial burst of fermentation over the first 48 hours and then goes dormant and then finishes off the last little bit at the 2 week mark. Does this sound likely or even possible? I've got a pretty good system at the moment of having two fermentors going at 2 week intervals so I'm bottling and brewing one fermentor every weekend, so I'd prefer not to wait longer than 2 weeks.

TIA, Cassius.

On 1/25/2020 at 5:03 AM, alilley said:

Is there a difference between a dunkelweizen and a munich dunkel apart from the wheat malt? Chocolate and coffee are not flavours I'd expect from a dunkel. Maybe a little choc, but definitely more of a toffee flavour.

Apart from the wheat malt they are fairly similar. Quite malty from the munich malt, a little bit of chocolate flavour but I wouldn't be expecting coffee from either. The darker grain (eg. Carafa) is only added in small quantities and mainly for colour. Not enough to create a roasty profile.

And obviously the yeast is different; lager vs hefeweizen.