Coopers Community

Pan Handle Caramel Cream Ale

Hi All,

I’m new at this so these questions might sound silly to most. I am waiting to bottle my Pan Handle Caramel Ale and was wondering if anyone on here every made it, the problem is that the OG was 1070 and this is the 10th day of fermentation and I have checked the FG twice now ( a day apart ) and my FG reading is 1036. The recipe says that it should be between 1020 - 1025, can I bottle this now or should I wait to see if it drops any lower? I followed the recipe to a T and it has been fermenting in a temperature controlled fridge a 18 degrees. Any help would be appropriated.  

Thanks

•  

Thanks for your advise guys. I took it out of the fridge this morning ready to bottle and the temperature did go up to 20 degrees and it started to bubble again. When I took the lid off quickly this morning it has this brown floating stuff on top, not much. I use the yeast S-04 . 10 grams when the recipe say use 11grams . I’m not sure what you mean by big beer. Sorry

4 minutes ago, Sandman1525230245 said:

Thanks for your advise guys. I took it out of the fridge this morning ready to bottle and the temperature did go up to 20 degrees and it started to bubble again. When I took the lid off quickly this morning it has this brown floating stuff on top, not much. I use the yeast S-04 . 10 grams when the recipe say use 11grams . I’m not sure what you mean by big beer. Sorry

I meant it has a high original gravity so it is important to pitch the correct amount of yeast.

S-04 has a tendency to stall if it gets to cold. Keep it around 20 degrees for a while and see if it starts fermenting again. If not you may wish to pitch some more yeast. Do you have yeast that came with the beer kit?

15 minutes ago, Sandman1525230245 said:

Gday Hairy, yes I do still have the yeast that came with the can.