Coopers Community

Dry hopping questions

Aussiekraut

1. When?

Some say after 4 days, some after 7 days. So one is during fairly active fermentation, the other toward the end. Does the state of fermentation impact on the effects of dry hopping? Do the hops still have an impact on the beer if dry hopped for a week? Or do the hops simply "run out", like a tea bag for example?

2. How?

I know how to dry hop but is it enough to just drop a hop sock on top of the wort and hope for the best? Should it be weighed down? The latter has the disadvantage that you won't get it out again until the FV is empty. I don't like commando hopping as I really don't appreciate hop matter between my teeth when drinking beer. This happened with a MJ Irish Red, where the hops didn't sink to the bottom and are in pretty much every bottle.  Is there an advantage to weighing them down?

While I'm a relative noob, I've been dry hopping for quite some time and I've found that hopping after fermentation is virtually, or completely finished gives me the best results, particularly aroma wise. I guess because the aroma isn't driven off by hopping during fermentation.

I generally use the s/s tea balls that sink on their own. For larger hop volumes (greater than, say, 20gms) I use a hop sock, leaving plenty of room for expansion, with a s/s bolt as a weight. Suitably sanitised marbles etc. will do the job as well. The hops remain in the FV for 5 - 7 days until kegging. I've had no issues with off flavours, but I do get a cloudiness in the finished beer as I don't fin or c/c

Hope this helps.

I've had mixed results and have tried various methods. In my initial brews, I was using a Muslim cloth hop sock to dry hop with to contain them. My beers all tasted the same regardless of what hops used. Trial and error found that the cause was the hop sock wasn't properly cleaned in between batches, cashing dodgy flavours.  I no longer use this method.