Coopers Community

Thanks for the inclusivity, everyone!

squarerootnegative1

Howdy all,

I'm new (as you can see - only my second post!). I've only made 17 L of beer with the craft series brew kit. I make this post, because today i noticed there seems to be a divide between the real life community of brewers vs the ones here on the site. I've been looking through the forums and every post that I've looked through for my own knowledge appears to be helpful without condescension and done with patience (even for the posts that appear to be repeated).

Today, I visited my local brew shop and I didn't feel comfortable there. I told them upfront I was a novice and thought maybe they show me around the shop and have a chat about my set up. Instead it was just a "Oh that's too small we don't sell anything here for that size" and that was it. They went off to talk with a regular and eventually just checked me out without saying anything else or even bye.

I guess this reads more like a rant than anything else, but I just want to say thank you to the community here for being inclusive despite size and complexity of setups or experience 🙂! It really makes a novice feel like they can keep continuing where if it were the other way around, I would have lost interest quite quickly. 

So thank you all very much!!

• Like 9

That's a bummer @squarerootnegative1.  Brewing can be daunting at first and there are lots of questions to ask and heaps to try and get your head around.

I reckon you've hit upon the minority at your brew shop. In general, I've found the home brewing community to be pretty helpful and willing to give their time.

But, you are right - this forum is an exceptional resource full of friendly people willing to help out. We're all a novice in some way. I owe a lot of people here a beer for their help. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1