Coopers Community

Coopers Dark Ale

wilfw

Would it be okay to use 1kg of dark dry malt extract with the Coppers Dark Ale kit or would it alter the character of the beer too much. I was also going to add 250g of soft dark brown sugar to it. And add 25g Willamette hops as a hop tea or a 10 minute boil in some wort.

What do you think, does this sound okay? Sorry but I'm not that experienced at tinkering with different ingredients, though my brews made to kit instructions have been very pleasant.

Edited by wilfw

6 hours ago, wilfw said:

Would it be okay to use 1kg of dark dry malt extract with the Coppers Dark Ale kit

I have done this and found it not particularly pleasant ... +1 for try less so maybe 0.5 kg or maybe even less ... instead of the brown sugar i love golden syrup in my dark ales and bitters so maybe 300g jar of GS  ... 

Edited by MartyG1525230263

I have a Coppers OS Lager which I don't really want to brew as a  Lager so I wonder if with it being very light and very little bitterness, if it would possibly work with the dark toasty malts of the Dark ale and if so would some golden syrup complement this mix if the brown sugar addition isn't advisable. Also what do you think of the addition of the Willamette hops as either a hop tea or even a dry hop. Any advice welcome thanks.

Edited by wilfw

13 hours ago, Otto Von Blotto said:

It may make the dark, toasty malts a bit overpowering. Perhaps you could try half dark malt and half light?

Yep, beware the dark malt. I did a Cooper bitter with 500g of dark malt and 500g light. Way too roasty, burnt coffee flavours. My worst beer so far, albeit still drinkable. It's mellowed a lot over 3 months and smoothed out, but still not one I go to often

I would 500g of light malt, or a tin of liquid light and 200g brown or dark brown sugar. That will make a nice beer. I've done 2 recent brews with brown sugar and really like them.