Coopers Community

Beginners question

Wyld

Hey all, 

I have searched the forum but can't find an answer to a discussion a mate and I are having. 

Can someone tell me why we have to add the 1.7kg can to hot water with the mixed sugars etc and then add cool water to get to temp before adding yeast. 

I could be wrong, often are says the Mrs, but thought why not just add the can to an already stable temp'd fermenter, mix and then add the yeast. Yeast is added at the same temp it will ferment at for the next week or so before bottling.

If anyone could shed some light I'd be grateful.  As you can tell, absolute newbie. 

Edited by Wyld
Refine

14 minutes ago, Wyld said:

Hey all, 

I have searched the forum but can't find an answer to a discussion a mate and I are having. 

Can someone tell me why we have to add the 1.7kg can to hot water with the mixed sugars etc and then add cool water to get to temp before adding yeast. 

I could be wrong, often are says the Mrs, but thought why not just add the can to an already stable temp'd fermenter, mix and then add the yeast. Yeast is added at the same temp it will ferment at for the next week or so before bottling.

If anyone could shed some light I'd be grateful.  As you can tell, absolute newbie. 

Hi Wyld.
The can of extract is quite thick and gooey. I doubt you could mix it well enough in cold water. You could try but I think you'd end up with an inconsistent mix. I imagine this would lead to either a very weak beer or it might take ages for the yeast to eat through it.
It's like dissolving honey in a cup of tea. You could possibly do it in a cold cuppa but hot tea is the go.

Edited by MUZZY
  • Like 1